PDA

View Full Version : Niggets fire Bzdelik

PointGuardU03
12-28-2004, 06:50 PM
The Nuggets fired their coach Jeff Bzdelik today after the team started 13-15 and have now lost 6 straight. I don't lnpw to do links or any of that fancy stuff, but it is now on the espn.com front page. I never thought Bzdelik was a good coach, but after taking the team to the playoffs he should have at least been extended or fired in the off -season so he didn't have to be a lame duck going into this year. Michael Cooper has been hired as an interm coach, I believe it's the same Michael Cooper who played for the showtime Lakers. Let's hope he has a better coaching career then his fellow Showtime teammates (i.e. Magic and Byron.).

Chicat
12-28-2004, 06:52 PM
Here's the link . . .

Nuggets fire Bzdelik (http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=1954408)

JMarkJohns
12-28-2004, 07:01 PM
I think it's garbage, but it was bound to happen sooner or later. They overachieved last year because of the coaching, then overpaid for a want (Martin) while failing to address their needs (shooting) and when the team struggles for lack of complete play and chemistry, the coach gets the ax...dumb, just dumb.

Hired to be fired, but it sure don't make things right...

PointGuardU03
12-28-2004, 07:02 PM
Thanks Chi...

budd1e_lee
12-28-2004, 07:28 PM
This team just has tooo many guys that play the same position, thats not the coaches fault, that's all Kiki's fault. I never thought Bzdelik was an amazing coach, but he was decent, and this team's slip-and-slide season is no fault of his, should have at least let him finish out the year.

Ben Hansen
12-28-2004, 07:41 PM
The biggest problem the Nugs have is losing Voshon Lenard for the year back on Opening Night with that Achilles' injury. Carmelo can't shoot, Dre Miller can't shoot, Earl Boykins can't shoot...there's a theme here. He would have made life a lot easier on 'Melo, Kenyon, Nene and Marcus Camby.

Oh well, you have to adapt.

PointGuardU03